The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The PNA regularly participates in Regional Observer Workshops, jointly organised and facilitated by the Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA) and the Pacific Community (SPC). PNAO also run workshops about MSC chain of custody, observer safety and electronic reporting.

The PNA observer coordinators meet annually to report on current issues and develop strategies to improve how the PNA observer agency works.

Observers in the Solomon Islands completing mass balance audits. Photo credit: Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)