The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

Foreign and domestic purse-seine vessels are managed under respective national and regional observer programmes.

The Parties to the Nauru Agreement works with iFIMS service provider to operate a vessel day monitoring system, which includes an e-observer programme.

A boarding party heads out, in the Marshall Islands. Photo credit: Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)