The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

The PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The Pacific Community’s Oceanic Fisheries Management program provides data, scientific analyses and advice to assist PNA with assessing tuna stocks and developing measures to manage fisheries.

Many fish end up in beach markets like this one in Tarqui. Photo credit: Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)