The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The Bikenibeu Declaration aims to secure greater economic benefits and control of the Parties’ tuna resources, and was signed in Tarawa, Kiribati, in 2009. It set up the PNA Office to serve its members through initiatives to maximise profitability and benefits for Pacific Islanders.

Agreements are designed to keep profitability and other benefits for locals of SIDS. Pole and liner fisherpeople work in the sunrise. Photo credit: Francisco Blaha