The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

The PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

Compliance includes monitoring, control and surveillance.

The PNA is committed to working with the integrated Fisheries Information and Management System (FIMS), using OFMP funds to support the appointment of e-reporting officers, and run a train-the-trainer programme.

An important part of compliance activities is training observers to measure, monitor, and report on fishing activities in standardised ways. Photo credit: Francisco Blaha.