The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

The PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The Oceanic Fisheries Programme of the Pacific Community (SPC) provides data products, scientific analysis and advice. These help PNA members develop measures to manage fisheries.

PNG subsistence fishers learning to catch tuna in home waters. Photo credit: Francisco Blaha.