The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

The PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The amount of tuna that can be caught in PNA-controlled waters is governed by two vessel day schemes. One is for purse seining and one for longlining. The schemes limit how many days vessels can fish in the exclusive economic zones (EEZs) of PNA member countries each year.

The PNA members manage the rules for fishing effort and fishing licences through the Palau Arrangement on the PNA. Each vessel day scheme is managed by a committee, which meets once a year to consider any changes needed.

Vessels need to register for licences through the PNA Office.

Transhipment of tuna catch in Pohnpei Lagoon: PNA members use several sets of rules to limit fishing so they can manage stocks of tuna. Photo: Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA).