The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) controls the world’s largest sustainable tuna purse-seine fishery. PNA countries provide around 50% of the global supply of skipjack tuna, the most commonly canned tuna.

The PNA members are: Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

The third arrangement for implementing the Parties to Nauru Agreement prohibits fishing or any related activity designed to catch tuna associated with whale sharks.

The third arrangement for implementing the agreement also states that no vessels are to deploy or service fish-aggregating devices (FADs) and associated equipment, or to fish by purse-seining vessels on floating objects between 0001 GMT on 1 July and 2359 GMT on 30 September each year. This rule is partly directed at reducing bycatch associated with the use of FADs.

Rules are in place to reduce bycatch caught as a result of using FADs. Photo credit: Francisco Blaha.